翻譯練習|Who validates you? 誰賦予你價值?

Who validates you?

誰賦予你價值?

Nick: I can’t imagine that any previous generation has been lied to as much as ours. We’re continually bombarded with seductive messages. Replace the distorted self-image with God’s true image in the minds and hearts of young people everywhere! Watch this incredible video that encourages not only teens but everyone to seek their validation from the only One qualified to give it!

我想不到此前有哪一個世代像我們這個世代一樣活在謊言裡,我們被很多似是而非的訊息轟炸,在所有年輕人的心靈和心中,歪曲的自我形象取代了上帝的真實形象。看看這個很棒的影片,這不只是給年輕人,也是給那些還在尋找真正的;從上帝--唯一有資格定義你的那一位--而來的自我價值。

Who validates you?
誰賦予你價值?

Who gives you a sense of belonging, purpose, and meaning?
誰給你歸屬感、目的和意義?

I can’t imagine of another generation that’s been lied to more than ours.
我想不到此前有哪一個世代像我們這個世代一樣活在謊言裡。

I see Your face in every sunrise
我在每個日出時都看到你的臉,

The colors of the morning are inside Your eyes
(我能看到)晨曦的色彩光線在你的眼睛裡。

All these bombardments of advertising and messaging in everything we see on TV, magazines,
似是而非的訊息從廣告、電視媒體、雜誌襲來,

what is beautiful, what is happiness, what is good enough.
它們試圖告訴你什麼是「美」、什麼是「幸福」、怎樣才「夠好」。

You’re beautiful
(你知道嗎?)你本來就是美麗的。One day during a speaking tour, I was speaking in front of 300 executive businessmen and bankers in Singapore, 2008.
在一次的演講行程中,我在新加坡向300位商人和銀行家演講,

And I’ll never forget how shocked I was, seeing this businessmen
coming up to me, saying Nick, because of the world economic crash, my banks have lost money, but I don’t care about money anymore. I need your help.
我永遠不會忘記,這個商人到我面前:「力克,金融海嘯讓我失去了我的財富,可是我在也不在乎了,我需要你的幫助!」

And I said what’s wrong?
你怎麼了?

And he said itís my daughter. She’s 14 years old and she looks at herself in the mirror and she can’t see anything but ugly. Help me.
這位商人說:「我的14歲女兒她(每天)看著鏡子中的自己,她只看得到「醜陋」。

I didn’t know what to say. I didn’t know how to prey exactly at that moment. I could see the love that this father had for his child, but it wasn’t enough, and it never will be enough, because her perception became her obsession, and that brought her to a spiral of depression.
我當下不知道該說什麼,甚至,我不知道如何為此禱告。我可以感受到這位父親對他女兒的愛,但是這不夠,而且永遠都是不夠的。因為她的看法已經綑綁住她,使她陷入極度沮喪的深淵。

I see you there hanging on a tree You bled and then you died and then you rose again for me
我們的主,我看見你為了我們掛在木頭上流出了寶血,你死了;又復活了。

Our God, our creator instills in us what we lack. Our identity is defined by Him.
創造我們的主才能補足我們內在的空缺,我們的價值(只有)祂可以定義。

In first John, chapter four, verse eighteen, it says there is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out all fear.
約翰壹書第四章第18章:「愛裡沒有懼怕,愛既完全,就把懼怕除去。」

Finally, these teens and pre-teens don’t have to be scared anymore about what they think they need to look like, or what others think of them.
最終,這些年輕人、青少年不用再懼怕,不用再擔心自己的外貌O不OK;不用擔心別人會怎麼看,

Because finally, there is truth of a perfect love, that has no bounds.
因為(上帝)的愛是無條件的。

Take it from a guy without arms and legs.
我,一個沒有手腳的男子,樂意和你分享這份愛。

Life can be cruel. People can be thoughtless of just plain mean. So I’ve learned to keep returning to the validation of the only one who is qualified to give it.
生活可能很殘酷;人們可能只懂得無腦地批評你。所以我學會常常回到唯一有資格定義我的那一位上帝面前尋求真正的價值。

Friend, you are a child of God.
朋友,你是上帝的孩子。

 

  • Melita 2017-2018/2在澳洲打工,歡迎 follow我的旅行部落格!
unnamed-5
部落格

 

unnamed-6
Facebook

發表留言

這個網站採用 Akismet 服務減少垃圾留言。進一步了解 Akismet 如何處理網站訪客的留言資料